Rockies pitcher reveals he must battle cancer again

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. – Through a twitter post, Rockies pitcher Chad Bettis revealed his testicular cancer has unexpectedly spread and that he will be out indefinitely to fight the disease.

In December, Bettis made the statement that he was going to be ready for spring training to come back to the sport he loves to play. This is found on the Washington Post Website. Now, he will be back to fighting cancer.

Bettis’ tweet read:

“During my routine health checkup last week, my oncologist believed that he had seen inflamed lymph nodes and ordered an immediate biopsy. I learned this week that my

Bettis
Courtesy of ESPN.com

testicular cancer has unexpectedly spread, and I will begin a regimen of chemotherapy in the very near future.

Although my blood tumor markers remain at normal levels, it’s clear that I need to be aggressive in my fight against this illness. Without being proactive, we wouldn’t have caught this.

I am committed to beating this cancer. My family and I are grateful for the support of the Major League Baseball Players Association, the Rockies organization and you, the fans.”

Teammates Dustin Garneau, catcher, and Johnathan Gray, pitcher, were some of the many that tweeted out their support for their friend and fellow Rocky.

“Thoughts and prayers for a great friend of mine please.” – Gray

“Horrible news from @cbettis35 but if anyone is strong enough to beat this crap it’s him. We’re with you bus. #Fcancer” – Garneau

Dominic LoVallo

 

Leave a Reply

